Why does this site appear as text-only?

PHOTOS - ALBC Morrill Conference

Morrill Act Conference - Oct. 23-24, 2009
PHOTOS - ALBC Morrill Conference


Lincoln’s Unfinished Work: The Morrill Act and the Future of Higher Education
October 23-24, 2009

University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana
Illini Union
1401 West Green Street
Urbana, IL 61801

*Photos courtesy of University of Illinois.

Oct. 23, 2009 – Opening

Richard H. Herman, Chancellor, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign welcomes participants to the Morrill Act Conference.


Senator Dick Durbin delivers Reception Keynote address.


Opening Panel Discussion, Morrill Act Conference.  From left to right:  Eileen Mackevich, Executive Director, ALBC; Adam Green, University of Chicago; David Von Drehle, TIME Magazine; Bruce Levine, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; and Peter Wallenstein, Virginia Tech.


ALBC Executive Director, Eileen Mackevich addresses the panel.


David Von Drehle of TIME Magazine in the opening panel discussion.


Adam Green, University of Chicago.


Oct. 24, 2009 – Conference:

Jonathan Baldwin Turner, founder of University of Illinois and one of original pioneers of public land-grant universities.


Charles Reed, Chancellor, The California State University.


William English "Brit" Kirwan, Chancellor, University System of Maryland.


Sam Pitroda, Advisor to the Prime Minister of India with a rank of Cabinet Minister on Information, Infrastructure and Innovation, delivers luncheon keynote address.


Molly Corbett Broad, President, American Council on Education (ACE).


Bill DeLauder, President Emeritus, Delaware State University; Executive Director, Commission on Abraham Lincoln Study Abroad Fellowship Program.


Stanley Ikenberry, Interim President Designate, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.



Panelists from A Framework for Revitalizing the Land-Grant Mission:  An Illinois Perspective.


Colien Hefferan, Deputy Director of the National Institute of Food and Agriculture, USDA.  Robert Rich, Director Institute Government and Public Affairs, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.


George Wright, President, Prairie View A&M University.  Peter McPherson, President APLU.  Peter Nardulli, Director, Center for the Study of Democratic Governance, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.